Shane MacGowan and the Popes: Rare Oul’ Stuff

I’m doing something really unethical with this review, I haven’t actually listened to the CD but that’s the problem – I don’t have to. ‘Rare Oul’ Stuff’ is a quick cash in from Shane’s old label ZTT who never really did too much for his career anyway (anyone remember trying to get a copy of “Crock of Gold” stateside). Basically it’s a mish mash of tracks from “The Snake” and “Crock of Gold” plus a couple of b-sides and EP tracks which most Shane fans will already own or at least have downloaded from Napster.

Track listing is:
1. You’re The One
2. The Song With No Name
3. Nancy Whiskey
4. Roddy McCorley
5. Rock N Roll Paddy
6. Christmas Lullaby
7. Danny Boy
8. Minstrel Boy
9. Rake At The Gates Of Hell
10. Victoria
11. Donegal Express
12. Ceildh Cowboy
13. Paddy Rolling Stone
14. Paddy Public Enemy 1
15. Back In The County Hell
16. The Snake With Eyes Of Garnet
17. Cracklin Rosie
18. Aisling
19. Spanish Lady
20. Come To The Bower
21. St John Of Gods

Nothing particularly rare or even oul’ about this and only recommended to the must have everything fan (the cover at least looks pretty neat).

December 2001

Danny Pope Presents…: The Acid Teeth E.P. (CD-EP)

Danny Pope is the former drummer for Shane MacGowan and the Popes and also a member of The Men They Couldn’t Hang. “The Acid Teeth E.P.” is Danny on an E-trip. “Acid Teeth” is all (just!!) tight as feck bass and drums in a reggae/dub groove with loads of samples and weird vocals.

“Rub a Dub in da Pub” is the track of most interest to anyone reading “Shite’n’Onions”. It’s a reworking of “B & I Ferry” from Shane’s “Crock of Gold”, just the bass and drums in a reggae groove. Shane on vocals with loads of rasta backing vocals – so cool it should have been sold with shades.

October 2001

Cruachan w/Shane MacGowan: Ride On CDS

All right I admit it; I was a Heavy Metal fan back in the Eighties – so out the window goes any credibility I had! But at least I feel well qualified to review this disk. Cruachan mix Metallica pre-“Black” album riffing (not really Death Metal at all) with Tin Whistle, Irish Flute, Bódhran and Uilleann pipes along with a heavy dose of Celtic mythology.

Shane MacGowan does a nice job producing this 4 track CDEP ensuring the traditional instruments are not lost in the metal mix. Shane also lends some vocals to their cover of the song Christy Moore made famous ‘Ride On’ though this is a lot closer to Metallica’s ‘One’ with it’s slow gentle introduction that grow more and more powerful as the song progresses climaxing in some very intense riffing. Shane duets with vocalist Karen Gilligan at the song’s beginning, the Metal vocals of Keith Fay replacing Shane as the song progresses.

“Maeves March 2001” is a Chieftains gone Metal instrumental; “Sauron” is similar in style to the English Folk-Metal’s of Skyclad and “To Hell or to Connaught” just want’s to be Horselips “Trouble”

August 2001